Branch Line Britain - celebrating Britain's minor railways

Loop Lines

Cuffley railway station

Alexandra Palace to Stevenage

Name of Route: The Hertford Loop Line

Stations: Alexandra Palace, Bowes Park, Palmers Green, Winchmore Hill, Grange Park, Enfield Chase, Gordon Hill, Crews Hill, Cuffley, Bayford, Hertford North, Watton-at-Stone, Stevenage

Train Operating Company: Great Northern 

Description: A loop line off the East Coast Mainline avoiding the Hertfordshire towns of Potters Bar, Hatfield and Welwyn Garden City.


Journey review

Grays railway station

Barking to Pitsea

Name of line:  The Tilbury Loop  The Rainham Loop

Stations: Barking, Dagenham Dock, Rainham, Purfleet, Grays, Tilbury Town, East Tilbury, Stanford-Le-Hope, Pitsea 

Train Operating Company: c2c

Description: A loop line off the main London Fenchurch Street to Southend line.


Journey review

Barnes railway station looking eastwards

Barnes to Feltham

Name of Line: The Hounslow Loop

Stations: Barnes, Barnes Bridge, Chiswick, Kew Bridge, Brentford, Syon Lane, Isleworth, Hounslow, Feltham

Train Operating Company: South West Trains

Description: A loop line off the main London Waterloo to Reading line.


Journey Review :

Trivia: The shrine that marks the place where singer Matc Bolan died is just round the corner from Barnes station.

Grangetown railway statiomn

Cardiff Central to Bridgend

Name of Line: The Vale of Glamorgan Line

Length of Line: 

Stations: Cardiff Central, Grangetown, Cogan, Eastbrook, Dinas Powys, Cadoxton, Barry Docks, Barry, Rhoose Cardiff International Airport, Llantwit Major, Bridgend

Train operating Company: Arriva Trains Wales

Description: A loop line of the main South Wales railway line from Cardiff to Swansea


Journey review - coming soon

Radyr railway station

Cardiff Central to Radyr

Name of Line: The City Line (part of)

Length of Line: 

Stations: Cardiff Central, Ninian Park, Waun-gron Park, Fairwater, Danescourt, Radyr

Train operating Company: Arriva Trains Wales

Description: A loop line off the Cardiff to Valleys railway lines


Journey review

Maidstone train approaches Otford railway station

Otford to Ashford

Name of Line:

Length of Line:

Stations: Otford, Kemsing, Borough Green & Wrotham, West Malling, East Malling, Barming, Maidstone East, Bearstead, Hollingbourne, Harrietsham, Lenham, Charing,
Ashford International

Train Operating Company: South Eastern

Rolling stock: Class 466 EMU's

Trains start from: London Blackfriars



Journey review: coming soon

Web links: